Vivid scoring brass

Harness the magic of air rushing through tubes with Beaufort—an agile, expressive, and majestic brass collection. It's a heroic celebration of brass-driven adventure themes, performed by England's very finest players. Beaufort opens up unique avenues of expression where the start of every single note plays a very special role.

From the power and glory of the classic movie themes to the pomp and circumstance of fanfares and reveilles, Beaufort is a wellspring of celebratory expression.


Ensembles: 3 trumpets, 4 horns, 3 trombones, trombone and tuba
Solo trumpet and French horn
Multiple note attack options
Special maestoso and adventure articulations
Agile legato
Dedicated articulations for repeat note phrases
Consistent articulations across instruments
3 dynamic layers plus advanced dynamics modeling
10 mic positions
Recorded at Lyndhurst Hall, AIR Studios
Transient matters
Transient matters

When it comes to many of the most memorable movie themes, the brass often has a very special attack. It’s a confident sound where the onset of the note is raspy, and slightly overblown—think of the opening to John Williams’ Raiders of the Lost Ark. Due to England’s brass band tradition, brass players there tend toward this playing style. We recorded multiple options, from the snap of the 'accented sharp' notes to the rounded, bell-like tone of the maestosos. And these articulation options are consistent across the instruments.

Adventures in authenticity
Adventures in authenticity

Beaufort offers a great legato, but the focus here is on creating a compelling sound for brass fanfares. We recorded notes in a musical context, with the pace and mood of the passage providing the right level of bite vs. tone. We also recorded a number of note repeats—this 'adventure' style often has fast notes in series—and you can select these articulations to create highly realistic patterns. We also experimented with some advanced dynamics modeling, giving you a high-level of dynamics control and expression for all instruments.

The best of British
The best of British

We hand-picked the players for this collection—a veritable who’s who of British brass superstars. For the solo trumpet, we brought in James Fountain, the principal trumpet of the London Symphony Orchestra and Professor of Trumpet at the Royal College of Music. On solo horn, we have Richard Watkins, a concerto soloist and chamber music player also known for playing on Inception, several Marvel films, Maleficent, and Fantastic Mr. Fox. Filling out the ensembles, we brought in noteworthy musicians with myriad credits and accolades: Corinne Bailey, Mark Nightingale, Helen Vollam, Alan Thomas, and Nigel Black.

Mic merging
Preserve your system resources: Fine-tune your mix using multiple mic positions, then merge into a single channel within the player.

Greater usability
SINE is designed to complement the compositional workflow. Create on the fly with auto keyswitch options, and easy remapping tools.

Download à la carte
Choose only the instruments and mic positions that you currently need—no need to download the entire collection at once.


London Series


Vivid scoring brass


AIR Studios, Lyndhurst Hall, London

499,00 € +VAT

Not licensed
  • Beaufort Fanfare by Friedrich Gattermann
  • Launch Day by Benny Oschmann
  • At the 11th Hour by Claire Wickes
  • Vista Pictures (jingle) by Jakob Olofsson
  • Final Stand by URTONMUSIC
  • In Harmony with the Force (respectful tribute) by Emmanuel Jacob
  • Flight by Philipp von Hören
  • Flying Brass by Hanna Sophie Lueke
  • Maiden Voyage of the Intrepid by Benjamin Botkin
  • The Beaufort Family by Jakob Olofsson
  • Balance of Fate by Alex Lamy
  • Intrepido by Alessandro Mallegni
  • Winners Win by Snorre Tidemand


  • Works with Orchestral Tools’ SINE Player—NOTE: Latest version required.
  • 141 GB of samples (58 GB SINEarc compressed)
  • 24 bit / 48 KHz patches
  • SINE system requirements:
  • Mac: macOS 10.13 or higher | Intel Core i5 or similar | Apple M1 chipset supported | At least 8 GB RAM (16 GB+ recommended)
  • Windows: Windows 10 | Intel Core i5 or similar | At least 8 GB RAM (16 GB+ recommended)
  • Formats supported: Standalone, VST, VST3, AU, AAX


If you want to buy the Kontakt version of this collection, please note:

  • This is not the latest version of this collection - the SINE version might offer additional features not available here
  • We don't maintain and update the older Kontakt versions of our collections
  • You can upgrade this Kontakt version to the SINE version later for an additional upgrade fee*

*= Upgrade fee is around 10% of the regular collection price. This is due to doubled costs for downloads and licensing.