Easy access to orchestral sound

Layers is a free orchestral VST instrument, and an easy way to add orchestral sounds to your compositions and productions. Draw from the finest recordings of strings, woodwinds, and brass. Generate full chords with one-touch simplicity. And seamlessly blend layers of tonal colors and dynamics with your MIDI controller.

Layers puts pristine orchestral sound right at your fingertips—for free.

Layers Screencast
Woman Violin Image

New orchestral textures for any production

Layers offers an essential tool for enhancing your music - no matter what you’re creating. Use Layers to spark ideas for your next soundtrack and produce sketches fast.

Sprinkle orchestral flavors into your latest pop songs. Or inject cinematic, orchestral textures into your electronic tracks.

Why is Layers free?

Layers is our way of introducing the acclaimed Orchestral Tools sound to a new array of composers, producers, and songwriters. You get a completely original instrument library with the remarkable sound people have come to expect from Orchestral Tools.

We ask only for your email address. We won’t bombard you with emails—we’ll just let you know when we have a new product or interesting offer.

Layers Artwork 5


  • Free orchestral VST instrument

  • Full orchestral patch plus individual string, woodwind, and brass sections—each with several articulations

  • Simple one-touch access to major, minor, and suspended chords with multiple inversions—plus single bass notes

  • Multiple, mixable mic positions and configurations

  • Unique layering capability that lets you seamlessly blend instrument sections and shift dynamics using your MIDI controller

Captured at Teldex Scoring Stage in Berlin

Layers delivers the same pristine sound as all Orchestral Tools collections. Just like those other collections, the instruments for Layers were meticulously recorded on the Teldex Scoring Stage in Berlin—a large hall with amazing acoustics. Engineers used select microphones in multiple positions and configurations. All sections featured hand-picked musicians from contemporary Berlin orchestras.

Layers Artwork 3

How do I get Layers?

Just hit the download button and follow the instructions.

Layers runs exclusively in the free Orchestral Tools SINE Player. Don’t have SINE yet? Learn more and download SINE here.

Then join the Orchestral Tools community through Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. Tell your friends about Layers and share your new creations by tagging us in your posts. We can’t wait to hear what you’ll do with this free orchestral VST instrument.


Free Series




Teldex Scoring Stage, Berlin

Not licensed
  • Opening (by Sascha Knorr)
  • Layers (by Hendrik Schwarzer)
  • Full Orchestra
  • Strings
  • Woodwinds
  • Brass


  • Works with Orchestral Tools' SINE Player
  • 17GB of samples (10GB SINEarc compressed)
  • 24Bit / 48KHz Patches
  • System Requirements SINE:
  • Mac OS 10.13, i5, 4GB RAM (16GB+ recommended)
  • Windows 10, Intel Core i5 or similar (Windows 7 is not officially supported)
  • Interfaces: VST, AU


If you want to buy the Kontakt version of this collection, please note:

  • This is not the latest version of this collection - the SINE version might offer additional features not available here
  • We don't maintain and update the older Kontakt versions of our collections
  • You can upgrade this Kontakt version to the SINE version later for an additional upgrade fee*

*= Upgrade fee is around 10% of the regular collection price. This is due to doubled costs for downloads and licensing.