The Beating Orchestra

Is it percussion? Or is it an orchestra? In fact, it’s both: Powerful drums fused with strings, woodwinds, and brass to form an absolutely unique percussive orchestra. Huge taikos and an epic range of drums and percussion dovetail perfectly with multiple orchestral sections playing a special range of short notes and percussive techniques. This innovative combination will add a new degree of power and propulsion to your compositions: The magnificent roar of an unstoppable rhythmic machine.


Massive range of massive drums and percussion
Consistent articulations across instruments
Ensembles and solo drums for Taikos and percussion
Various sections sizes focusing on short notes, repetitions, and effects
Wide range of detailed clusters
Recorded at the Teldex Scoring Stage in Berlin

The sound of thunder

The taiko recordings or Metropolis Ark 3 were probably the loudest recordings we’ve ever done. And this collection offers literally three truckloads of percussion instruments: You get a taiko ensemble plus solo taikos, including a 60-inch monster Taiko, all played by WADOKYO. You also get a massive timpani ensemble, consisting of no less than three sets of timpanis, plus solo timpani, and a truly vast range of assorted percussion ensembles and instruments played by Hamburg-based Elbtonal Percussion.

The percussive orchestra

The majesty of Metropolis Ark 3 comes into play when you combine the bombastic percussion with the percussive orchestral sections. Write complex rhythms and driving melodies with 11 sections plus a grand piano focused on short notes, repetitions, and clusters. Consistent articulations across strings, woodwinds, and brass means you can play instruments together easily, and add depth and color to your percussive foundations.

About the Metropolis Ark Series

Inspired by Fritz Lang’s epic 1927 film Metropolis, the Metropolis Ark series is designed specifically for writing bold, loud, aggressive, larger-than-life film music. The five collections form a cohesive whole that’s perfect for movie trailers, but comprehensive and detailed enough for all kinds of musical heavy-lifting. If you need orchestral sounds that go way beyond the ordinary and conventional, then roll out the Metropolis Ark.

Mic merging
Preserve your system resources: Fine-tune your mix using multiple mic positions, then merge into a single channel within the player.

Greater usability
SINE is designed to complement the compositional workflow. Create on the fly with auto keyswitch options, and easy remapping tools.

Download à la carte
Choose only the instruments and mic positions that you currently need—no need to download the entire collection at once.


Metropolis Ark

Metropolis Ark 3

The beating orchestra


Teldex Scoring Stage, Berlin

549,00 € +VAT

Not licensed
  • Meatball Surgery (by Craig Sharmat)
    Metropolis Ark 3
  • InfernalMachine (by Sascha Knorr)
    Metropolis Ark 3
  • Fighting After Midnight (Helge Borgarts & Thomas Stanger)
    Metropolis Ark 3
  • Mice chasing Dragons (Helge Borgarts & Thomas Stanger)
    Metropolis Ark 3


  • SINE version: Works with Orchestral Tools’ SINE Player—NOTE: Very latest version required!
  • 192 GB of samples (68 GB SINEarc compressed)
  • 24 bit / 48 KHz patches
  • System requirements SINE:
  • Mac OS 10.13, i5, 4 GB RAM (16+ GB recommended)
  • Windows 10, Intel Core i5 or similar
  • Interfaces: VST, AU, AAX
  • KONTAKT version: Works with the free Kontakt Player or Kontakt 5.8.1 full
  • 115 GB of samples (58 GB NCW compressed)
  • 24Bit / 48KHz patches
  • Please note: Kontakt versions bought after Dec 21, 2021 can be upgraded to SINE for a €54,90 support fee


If you want to buy the Kontakt version of this collection, please note:

  • This is not the latest version of this collection - the SINE version might offer additional features not available here
  • We don't maintain and update the older Kontakt versions of our collections
  • You can upgrade this Kontakt version to the SINE version later for an additional upgrade fee*

*= Upgrade fee is around 10% of the regular collection price. This is due to doubled costs for downloads and licensing.