Contemporary string textures and effects

Explore the experimental side of contemporary scoring with these complex and innovative string textures designed and curated by Benjamin Wallfisch. Encounter a wide range of sounds, from subtle ambiences to terrifying sonic vistas from the gates of hell itself. It’s equal parts exquisite string performances captured at Teldex Studios and multi-layered sound designs. Stringscapes is the ultimate toolkit for experimental strings—and a voyage of discovery for the contemporary composer.


79 patches in 11 distinct groups
Long, evolving acoustic performances
Detailed sound design patches
Long, evolving atmospheres
Complex reversed sounds
‘Immersive’ mic position for atmos
Special mix options by Benjamin Wallfisch
Recorded at Teldex Scoring Stage, Berlin
Long, evolving acoustic performances
Long, evolving acoustic performances
Stringscapes offers a huge set of orchestral string effects and textures created and curated for this collection by Benjamin Wallfisch. These are long, evolving passages played live by a string orchestra—extended playing techniques, aleatoric phrases, clusters, and more. Each patch is a performance in itself, evoking moods and atmospheres to fit your scores.

Detailed sound design patches

The second half of Stringscapes is an array of complex processed patches. We set our sound designers to work with the raw material from the performances, with a brief to create a flexible toolkit for contemporary scoring. They delivered a wide set of possible worlds, from disturbing horror textures to reversed effects and ethereal ambient atmospheres: Instant inspiration.

Mix your own Hollywood sound
Mix your own Hollywood sound
The sound is built on a solid foundation of 14 first violins, 12 second violins, 10 violas, 10 cellos, and 6 double basses, expertly recorded on a scoring stage. You get tutti patches, as well as high and low strings. In addition to the standard Orchestral Tools mics, we added an atmos setup. So from stereo to full atmos, everything is covered.

All recordings are available in their ‘raw’ form, as well as in a special mix by Benjamin Wallfisch. So you get the Hollywood sound straight out of the box, plus a wealth of options for shaping and perfecting your own personal sound.

About Benjamin Wallfisch

With over 100 film and TV credits to his name, multi award-winning composer Benjamin Wallfisch comes from a long line of renowned string musicians going back three generations. His movies have made over $4 billion at the international box office and his credits include blockbusters like IT, The Flash, Blade Runner 2049 (with Hans Zimmer), The Invisible Man, Mortal Kombat, Shazam!, Thirteen Lives, and the Academy Award best picture-nominee Hidden Figures.

He has conducted orchestras in concert around the world, including the London Philharmonic, LA Philharmonic, Sydney Symphony, Netherlands Symphony to name a few, and has also collaborated with some of the biggest names in music including Adele, Herbie Hancock, Lang Lang, Pharrell, and Yuja Wang. Benjamin has spent a lifetime studying and learning from mentors from across the spectrum of music, which allows him to embrace multiple genres and disciplines in his own work. His passion for musical extremes and originality, whether for the orchestra or in the realm of electronic sound design, has earned him Golden Globe, BAFTA, Emmy, and two Grammy nominations.

Find out more

Perfectly integrated Teldex sound

Stringscapes by Benjamin Wallfisch is also available as a bundle with its sister collection, Benjamin Wallfisch Strings.

What’s more, both collections were recorded at the Teldex Scoring Stage in Berlin—the same place we recorded the Berlin Series, the Metropolis Ark Series, Miroire, and many other collections. We used the same basic mic setup every time, so you know that all these collections work perfectly together in the same sonic space.

Mic merging
Preserve your system resources: Fine-tune your mix using multiple mic positions, then merge into a single channel within the player.

Greater usability
SINE is designed to complement the compositional workflow. Create on the fly with auto keyswitch options, and easy remapping tools.

Download à la carte
Choose only the instruments and mic positions that you currently need—no need to download the entire collection at once.


Benjamin Wallfisch Strings


by Benjamin Wallfisch


Teldex Scoring Stage, Berlin

249,00 € +VAT

Not licensed
  • The Winged City by Timo Loosli
  • Torquemada by Andrew Morgan Smith
  • Atramentum by Hanna Sophie Lueke
  • The Last Battle by Sascha Knorr (Strings and Stringscapes)
  • It Lives by Friedrich Gattermann
  • Doors and Windows by Benjamin Botkin (Strings and Stringscapes)


  • Works with Orchestral Tools’ SINEplayer—NOTE: Latest version required.
  • 129 GB of samples (60 GB SINEarc compressed)
  • 24 bit / 48 KHz patches
  • SINE system requirements:
  • Mac: macOS 10.13 or higher | Intel Core i5 or similar | Apple M1 chipset supported | At least 8 GB RAM (16 GB+ recommended)
  • Windows: Windows 10 | Intel Core i5 or similar | At least 8 GB RAM (16 GB+ recommended)
  • Formats supported: Standalone, VST, VST3, AU, AAX
  • Please note: This is a state-of-the-art string collection. Due to its size and number of samples, it requires a powerful computer to run as intended, especially when using multiple mic positions. We strongly recommend using a machine with fast CPU clock times, lots of memory, and an SSD drive (ideally internal). On some machines, you may want to take advantage of SINEplayer's mic merging feature to optimize performance.


If you want to buy the Kontakt version of this collection, please note:

  • This is not the latest version of this collection - the SINE version might offer additional features not available here
  • We don't maintain and update the older Kontakt versions of our collections
  • You can upgrade this Kontakt version to the SINE version later for an additional upgrade fee*

*= Upgrade fee is around 10% of the regular collection price. This is due to doubled costs for downloads and licensing.